If you are a Muslim then you would be surely aware from the five pillars of Islam. These five pillars of Islam are known out to be the main and important foundation framework of the Muslim life. 

  1. Testimony of Faith
  2. Prayer
  3. Support of Zakat for Needy
  4. Ramadan Fasting Month
  5. Pilgrimages to Makkah

Five Pillars of Islam

five pillars of islam

Below we will going to discuss around with each one of these five pillars of Islam one by one:

1) The Testimony of Faith:

This pillar is all about the “La ilaha illallah, Muhammadur Rasoolu Allah (لآ اِلَهَ اِلّا اللّهُ مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُوُل اللّهِ).”  This statement means that:“There is no true god (deity) but God (Allah),1 and Muhammad is the Messenger (Prophet) of God.”  In the very first part, all the Muslims should have the faith in the fact that we just have the right to be worshipped but God alone. And this God has neither partner nor son. This testimony of faith is known out with the name of Shahada. It is considered to be one of the most important pillar of Islam.

2) Prayer:

On the next we have the prayer! Muslims are required to offer the prayers five times in a day. It is just the matter of few minutes to offer the prayer. It is so far said to be getting into a direct relation between the worshipper and God. There are no intermediaries between God and the worshipper. This prayer is the removal of all the worries and stress and gives away the person with the inner happiness and comfort. The Prophet Muhammad  said: "Bilal, call (the people) to prayer, let us be comforted by it". Prayers are performed at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and night.

3) Giving Zakat:

Zakat is all about supporting the poor and needy people. It has been rightly said that all the things are in the custody of God and wealth is just in the hands of the human beings as being the trust.  In simple words, we can even call Zakat with the name of being growth and purification. A specific percentage of your wealth should be distributed among the  certain classes of needy people. The percentage which is due on gold, silver, and cash funds.

4) Fasting the Month of Ramadan:

On the next as being another one of the most pillar we have the fasting in the month of Ramadan. This month arrives just once in a year in which the Muslims are required to keep the fast from dawn until sundown. They should be abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations. Fasting is taken to be the practice of the spiritual self-purification. A person has to keep themselves from all the sins and bad habits and get closer to God through his remembrance and reading Holy Quran.

5) The Pilgrimage to Makkah:

The annual pilgrimage (Hajj) to Makkah that should be performed by each single Muslin once in a life who is mentally and physically able to do it.  About two million people go to Makkah each year as rising from every corner of the globe.  Each single year Hajj is performed in the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar.  Male pilgrims had to wear special simple clothes. It is performed in the Haram mosque in Makkah.